shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : 0
View Cart Check Out

Galway United v Cabinteely FC Match Report


A goal in each half by Kevin Knight and Shane Barnes helped Cabo to an historic first every away SSE Airtricity League away win over Galway.
One hundred and four six days since our last First Division outing, Pat Devlin’s side made it four wins in a row in the 2020 season with a great team display.
The White and Green’s had the best chances in the encounter on Friday at Eamonn Deacy Park, registering a second clean sheet on the bounce.
The visitors broke the deadlock on the half hour. Keith Dalton swung in a deep out swinging corner from the right flank.
Skipper Conor Keeley nodded down at the back post with record appearance holder Knight – on his first league start of the campaign – on hand to steer his sixth career for the club with a close-range header.
It almost became 2-0 within seconds. Vilius Labutis intercepted in midfielder before threading a through ball for Kieran Marty Waters. However, Kevin Horgan got down well to smother.
Perhaps crucially, in first half stoppage, the Tribesmen almost equalised.
A low shot by Conor Barry was saved by Michael Kelly. The loose ball fell to Kevin Farragher four yards out but somehow, Lloyd Buckley got back to make a remarkable goal-line block.
In a tight second period, Keeley was twice denied in quick succession in the 76th minute.
The skipper’s header off Dalton’s free was superbly tipped over by Horgan. From the corner that followed, Keeley’s header was hacked off the line by Farragher.
Yet, within moments, it did become 2-0.
Jonathan Carlin whipped in a cross from the left-wing. The ball pinged around the box. Waters’ shot on the spin was blocked.
Barnes reacted to beat the offside, burst to the loose ball eight yards and fire it low through Horgan’s body to remain the top-scorer in the section with four league goals this season.

Galway United: Kevin Horgan; Jack Lynch, Kevin Farragher, Cian Murphy,
Marc Ludden; Maurice Nugent, Sam Warde, Timmy Molloy; Donal Higgins, Mikey Place, Conor Barry.
SUBS: Francely Lomboto (for Molloy), Killian Brouder (for Murphy) (both 58mins), Vinny Faherty (for Barry 76 mins), Stephen Christopher (for Nugent), Carlton Ubaezuonu (for Lynch) (both 83 mins), Timo Parthoens, Cian Mulryan (both not used).

Cabinteely FC: Michael Kelly; Lloyd Buckley, Conor Keeley, Jonathan Carlin, Kevin Knight; Eoin Massey; Keith Dalton, Alex Aspil, Vilius Labutis,
Kieran Marty Waters; Shane Barnes.
SUBS: Paul Fox (for Waters), Dean Casey (for Barnes) (both 85 mins),
Mitchell Byrne (for Buckley 89) mins), Zak O’Neill (for Massey 90 + 5 mins),
Eoin Phillips, Dylan Thornton Cory Chambers, (all not used).

REFEREE: Kevin O’Sullivan.