shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : 0
View Cart Check Out

Wexford FC v Cabinteely FC Match Report


For the first time since 2017, Cabinteely played out a draw with Wexford to extend our unbeaten run to the 2020 SSE Airtricity League First Division season.
Despite being injury ravaged, the White and Greens registered a third clean sheet in a row as we made it five league games unbeaten on Friday at Ferrycarrig Park.
There were several changes to the visiting line-up from the team that had defeated Galway United 2-0 last week at Eamonn Deacy Park.
There were full debuts for goalkeeper Corey Chambers (against his former club) and midfielder Dylan Thornton. There were first starts of the campaign for Paul Fox and Zak O’Neill while Dan Blackbyrne returned from suspension.
Then to compound matters, there were two more late changes to the side after the warm-up.
Christian Lotefa and Eoin McPhilips (for his debut) replaced captain Conor Keeley and Vilius Labutis. Kevin Knight skippered the team with Labutis dropping to the bench while Mark Soper also joined the reserves.
Clear cut chances were few and far between in the opening period as the Cabo defence – marshalled superbly by Jonathan Carlin – stood firm.
The Slaneysiders had the only shot on target as Chambers parried away ex-Cabo man Conor Crowley’s long-range effort.
The second half though saw chances at either end.
Fox headed on Blackbyrne’s cross-field pass. Wexford’s James Carroll headed back to custodian Tom Murphy, but the ball rolled agonisingly wide of the upright.
With 20 minutes remaining, the away outfit went close to breaking the deadlock. Zak O’Neill broke from the right wing to send in a cross to the six-yard area. Fox arrived at the far post, but his sliding effort found the side-netting.
Just seconds later, a surging run by Jack Doherty to set up Kaleem Simon. But Chambers made a vital point-blank save.
Cabo almost took all three points in the fourth minute of stoppage time. Sub Dean Casey whipped in a cross from the left. It fell to fellow sub Rob Dunne onhis debut. The striker controlled but blazed over from close range. 

WEXFORDFC: Tom Murphy; Dan Tobin, James Carroll, Jay Nwanze, Craig Giles; Conor Crowley, Karl Manahan; Kaleem Simon, Jack Doherty, Charlie Smith; Ola Adeyemo.
SUBS: Kevin McEvoy, Jack Larkin, Karl Fitzsimons, Janabi Amour, Patrick O’Sullivan,Azeez Yussuf, Jack Lydon (all not used). 

CABINTEELYFC: Corey Chambers; Dan Blackbyrne, Christian Lotefa, Jonathan Carlin, KevinKnight; Dylan Thornton; Zak O’Neill, Eoin McPhilips, Paul Fox; Alex Aspil; Shane Barnes.
SUBS: Robert Dunne (for Barnes), Dean Casey (for McPhilips), Mitchell Byrne (for Thornton) (all 88 minutes), Cian Kelly, Vilius Labutis, Mark Soper, Michael Kelly (allnot used). 

REFEREE: Alan Patchell.