shopping-bag 0
Items : 0
Subtotal : 0
View Cart Check Out

Cabinteely FC v Galway United Match Preview

Cabinteely FC Press Release

Team News vs Galway United

Eamonn Deacy Park

SSE Airtricity League First Division

Friday 31 July 2020

7.45 p.m.

One hundred and 40 days after the original fixture was first set to be played, Cabinteely make the return to SSE Airtricity League First Division action with a trip to Eamonn Deacy Park to face Galway United.
The club had previously begun the 2020 campaign with victories over Bray Wanderers (4-2), Athlone Town (3-1) and Shamrock Rovers II (1-0) when play was stopped last March.


Cabinteely Director of Football Pat Devlin is looking forward to getting back onto the field of play after such a long lay-off.
“We’ve to go to Galway. It is a big game. We have been back a month now. So, hopefully we can kick on from here.”
He added “We’ve two away matches coming up – Galway and then Wexford next week. So, it’s going to be tough. But the squad has trained well. Every club is in the same position. We just need to apply ourselves to the best of our ability and see where that takes us.”


Daniel Blackbyrne is suspended.
Ciaran Grogan (Athlone Town), Lee Murray (Crumlin United) and Oliver White (United States) have departed the club.


Kevin O’Sullivan will take charge of the fixture with Dermot Broughan and Eoin Harte being the assistants. Jason Mannix is the fourth official.


The clubs met for the first time in league action back in 2018. Galway had won all three matches that season.
Robert Manley’s winner in March 2019 at Stradbrook gave Cabo a first victory over the Tribesmen.
The next meeting back in May 2019 finished score-less at Eamonn Deacy Park.
Last August 2019, at Stradbrook, Conor Barry’s effort gave Galway all three points in a 1-0 success.



Stradbrook, March 24

Cabinteely 1 (Robert Manley 17); Galway United 0.

Eamonn Deacy Park, May 31

Galway United 0; Cabinteely FC 0.

Stradbrook, August 16

Cabinteely 0; Galway United 1 (Conor Barry 19).


Eamonn Deacy Park, July 27

Galway United 3 (Eoin McCormack 2, Conor Barry 39, 54); Cabinteely 2 (Joe Doyle 37, Kieran Marty Waters 85).

Stradbrook, May 20

Cabinteely 1 (Keith Dalton 88); Galway United 2 (Robbie Williams 9, Marc Ludden 39).

Eamonn Deacy Park, July 27

Galway United 3 (Danny Furlong 41, 68, Conor Barry 60); Cabinteely 1 (Joe Doyle 87).